https://www.parsons.com/

Parsons

Environmental Scientist Intern

June 2022 • Wilmington, NC

What I liked

I loved the knowledge team members I get to work with everyday. They were are very respectable and nice individuals that helped teach me everything I needed to know for my position and more. I also love the field work and am actually interested in the problems we are working on.

What I wish was different

Nothing except I wish I had started sooner.

Advice

Definitely accept it if you have the chance. The perfect step in the right direction for my career path, very thankful for everyone at Parsons.
1 person found this helpful

Roadway Design Intern

March 2022 • Peachtree Corners, GA

What I liked

I really liked how everything is extremely organized in the company. All the various groups related to a single project are separated, so each group is working on its own tasks. Really enjoyed how happy and welcoming a lot of my superiors were and I was able to feel like I was a part of the projects I worked on. For some projects it felt like I had a say in the decisions and my work was appreciated.

What I wish was different

I wish there were a more general directive of what to be working on. If I was not actively working on project that I had a big part of, a majority of the time I would be constantly asking what I could be working on. If there had a been a more broad direction such as a folder of items to work on or an ongoing document for tasks, it would seem a lot more immersive than it was. Another thing is that I wish there was more interaction with the entire office, or at least the other interns.

Advice

Try and learn as much as you can by yourself through practice, research, and trial and error. Use what your superiors teach you and master it and then explore more because they are not going to show you each and every little thing about the software unless its related to the task you are assigned. Biggest key is to always be motivated and ask questions. Try and get as involved into the projects as you can.
1 person found this helpful

Roadway and Drainage Design Intern

June - August 2022 • Centreville, VA

What I liked

Great coworkers and atmosphere. The activities outside of the office bolstered friendly relationships. Had intern specific info sessions about the many divisions of the company, the diversity of projects, career growth, and more. Overall felt like a place you could grow and explore a career at. I had an amazing mentoring experience with someone in the field I want to pursue in the future. She was inspirational and extremely helpful in answering my questions and recommending resources for career/personal growth.

What I wish was different

I wish I had requested access to the software to work from home. Not everyone came in every day, most coworkers worked from home and I would have preferred to stay home as well a couple times this summer since I had a long running cold.

Advice

Definitely apply for a mentor and invest time into asking questions. This was the best part of my internship and I am so thankful for her insight into structural engineering and how to get ahead as a female engineer. Also, ask lots of questions and use the notebook they give you. I filled mine with notes, calculations, reminders that were essential for me to finish my tasks.
1 person found this helpful

Environmental Science Intern for Transportation

May - August 2022 • Indianapolis, IN

What I liked

I enjoyed the broad knowledge of the environmental team varying from all forms of physical science. I also enjoyed the field work.

What I wish was different

I wish I would of started earlier. I missed an array of field opportunities.

Advice

Talk to everybody on the environmental team these guys are smart! the opportunities for networking is endless in a huge global corporation take advantage of it.
1 person found this helpful

Structural Engineering Intern

May - August 2022 • Pasadena, CA

What I liked

I was really impressed by the level of work I was immediately assigned. Sure there were some submittals that needed review and some bookkeeping that needed to be done but more often than not I was trusted to complete real life design work that had immediate implications on what will be built. Knowing that my contributions were taken seriously and that I was trusted with such tasks early on gave me an immense amount of confidence and motivation.

What I wish was different

No complaints, an incredible experience all around!

Advice

Take advantage of all the resources you have at your disposal. From analysis and design software, codes and standards to read through, and a myriad of guides to learn from, it was overwhelming at first but practically every single day I was learning something new.
1 person found this helpful

Construction Engineering Intern

June 2022 • Irvine, CA

What I liked

Hands on experience being out in the field. Everyone that I encountered on my project was eager to share their knowledge. Management was also very encouraging. I learned a lot about Parsons as well. The internship program gave us a chance to hear from and speak to leaders in the company that normally seem out of reach.

What I wish was different

Advice

Always ask questions and never be afraid to take risks.
1 person found this helpful

Computer Engineering Intern

June - August 2022 • Charlotte, NC

What I liked

Great communication with manager. Enjoyable coworker experience Working from home was handled extremely well Workplace culture very inviting and pleasant

What I wish was different

Advice

1 person found this helpful

Co-Op Student (Engrg/Comp Sci)

June 2022 • Columbia, MD

What I liked

I like the hands on experience gained from the internship. A mixture of shadowing along with important work was completed during my employment.

What I wish was different

Nothing. Great experience overall.

Advice

One piece of advice that I would share would be to come in ready to learn. Although you have been hired for a job, it is still expectant of you to learn and apply that to tasks you are assigned to complete.
1 person found this helpful

Bridge Design Intern

May - August 2022 • Indianapolis, IN

What I liked

The office environment was incredible, all my superiors have been kind to me and better yet actively taught me something new everyday while providing answers to my questions and guidance to industry related work. I have had multiple opportunities to at least witness every part of the design process.

What I wish was different

I wasn't given a ton of deadline related work, which is understandable being an intern, but some others I feel got more serious work than I did, while I still feel I learned as much as I would have otherwise, it would have been nice to know what I was working on was important.

Advice

Persistence is key
1 person found this helpful

Civil Engineering Intern

May - August 2022 • Plattsburgh, NY

What I liked

I loved the time and dedication Parsons employees and leaders gave to us interns. I always felt very welcomed and everyone was very willing to help me. I learned a lot about my individual field and work, but I also learned a lot about Parsons.

What I wish was different

Advice

Reach out and learn from as many people as possible.
1 person found this helpful

Software Engineering Intern

June - August 2018 • Centreville, VA

What I liked

Great people and culture

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Mechanical Engineering Intern

June 2021 • Dahlgren, VA

What I liked

I liked the opportunity to learn about engineering design and ship integration for a new classified non-lethal directed energy system and test container. I collaborated with senior engineers on several large-scale design projects for the ship. The internship provided a versatile and team-oriented environment improving my communication, analytical, organizational, and CAD skills. I gained experience in development, testing, and evaluation of next generation naval systems, mechanical components, equipment, RF sensors, and machinery specific to high-voltage RF transmitter systems. I also learned more about the integration of HPM systems in shipboard applications, digital and analog control systems, and electromagnetic interference mitigation techniques. This internship motivated me to apply my knowledge in real-world engineering projects.

What I wish was different

I wish the internship were located closer to my house or a potential remote work option because it was a long commute.

Advice

They are very open to questions and new ideas, so don't be afraid to ask a lot of questions.
1 person found this helpful

Systems Engineering Intern

June - August 2021 • Huntsville, AL

What I liked

They provide a lot of opportunities to learn; technical skills, interview skills, networking, etc.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Civil Engineering Intern

June - August 2018 • Washington, DC

What I liked

Tons of experience and other engineers offering information and help

What I wish was different

More structured intern program. I t was sometimes hard for the engineers to find assignments that were at an intern's level.

Advice

Always ask questions because sometimes not all the information is given with an initial project.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Computer Engineering Intern

January - August 2017 • Centreville, VA

What I liked

I appreciated being treated as part of the team, and as if I was full time. I was given the same responsibility as full time engineers, and felt like I was able to contribute to my projects.

What I wish was different

The only real complaint I have is the location. Centreville doesn't have a ton to do but has very busy traffic.

Advice

I would recommend getting to know as many people as possible, and to ask many questions.
1 person found this helpful