http://www.mondaviarts.org

UC Davis Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

Student Ticket Agent

October 2019 - December 2020 • Davis, CA

What I liked

I loved the atmosphere in the workspace. My coworkers and supervisors were lovely people and created an inclusive, welcoming environment that made it easy and fun to work in. I highly recommend this job!

What I wish was different

Literally nothing! The shift lengths and times were ideal, working on campus was ideal, and the work itself was interesting and not too challenging.

Advice

Get ready to put your customer service hat on! Communicating with and serving Mondavi Center patrons is a rewarding experience but for an introvert like myself, it takes some mental energy. Always come to work with a great attitude, a good nights sleep, and a cup of coffee!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Ticketing Agent

March 2020 • Davis, CA

What I liked

I love the atmosphere of working at the Mondavi Center. It made me feel more integrated into Davis because I felt more apart of the community. It's super cool to get to talk to people all over yolo county and hear how excited they are to come to UC Davis and watch these awesome shows the mondavi center gets to put on. Working with the people here has also been amazing because everyone is so willing to help and do their best to make sure all the performances go smoothly. The biggest plus is definitely getting excited about the shows and even getting to watch some!

What I wish was different

This is out of everyones control but COVID had a huge impact on the Mondavi center especially since we had to cancel all the shows. That was definitely tough on everyone and it took us a bit to bounce back. Luckily, our awesome team was able to put something together this coming fall and everyone is super excited! One of the beauties about the Mondavi center is that we are super flexible and quickly able to adapt.

Advice

Be open to learning from your managers, coworkers, and patrons. Getting to talk to some of our patrons has been super amazing especially during COVID. They tell stories about previous shows they've been to sometimes over 20 years ago! Another thing is to be flexible because the Mondavi center is always changing and trying new ways to make the performances and experience better for everyone. Carrying a positive attitude towards change has made this experience very valuable to me and my future job.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Ticket Agent

March 2019 • Davis, CA

What I liked

The vibes in the ticket office are immaculate. The students aren't toxic and the supervisors try their best to connect with the students on a level that makes working there comfortable and relaxed. Most days if I'm not in class I hang out at in the ticket office before a shift just because its a nice place to be. The Center as a whole really values diversity and there are many people from different walks of life that I would not have met if I hadn't worked here.

What I wish was different

Nothing. Customers can be customers and that's just how retail and customer service is but i wouldn't change anything about the people I worked with or the company itself.

Advice

Be prepared to learn the basic language/processes of the ticketing software but know that sooner rather than later it will click and you have no problem helping customers.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Assistant House Manager

January 2020 • Davis, CA

What I liked

The work environment is fantastic! Everyone works like a team and I feel safe and supported there. Also, it is really rewarding to be able to watch all the unique performances-- so I think it is a win win working as an Assistant House Manager.

What I wish was different

There's nothing to really change about this position, the job is pretty straight forward and I enjoy working with the volunteers, my supervisors, and other staff alike.

Advice

Depending on the show you work on, you may be standing for long periods of time. However, it isn't that bad since you'll be doing other things while that happens. Usually the performances are really good that I sometimes I forget that I'm standing there.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Student Ticket Agent

January 2020 - August 2021 • Davis, CA

What I liked

From supervisors to long standing patrons, other departments at the Mondavi Center, and to fellow student ticket agents, there really is a sense of community. The Center as a whole, genuinely cares about the diverse backgrounds, that employees bring to the table. I personally had the opportunity to work in the ticket office, where the supervisors were the most amazing and sweetest people in building the united team, that the ticket office is. Patrons do not simply order tickets, but are also interested in hearing about student ticket agents' studies. While, career staff members are constantly interested in seeing the student agents succeed in their personal endeavors. There are so many stories to be heard, and they are heard. Overall, the Mondavi Center does not view student ticket agents as merely employees, but part of the arts' family.

What I wish was different

No regrets or changes!

Advice

This is a good job for someone who may want to crush phone-call and/or social anxiety. There will be times when a lot of calls are made in a day, with the addition of new information to consume. The key to success: taking your time and knowing that the people around you are there to help you.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Student Ticket Agent

May 2021 • Davis, CA

What I liked

I've recently joined the ticket office team and I am very happy with not only my role but also my interaction with my coworkers. The team makes work fun everyday while still maintaining a balance and knowing when to get to work and complete our tasks for the day. The supervisors are great people and are always willing to help or answer questions. I would highly recommend a position at the Mondavi Center ticket office! Additionally, if you are interested in the performing arts, this is the place for you.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Student Ticket Agent

September 2019 - June 2021 • Davis, CA

What I liked

The supervisors in the Ticket Office were the kindest individuals I've ever worked with. The environment is a collaborative and welcoming space for any student to thrive personally and professionally. All agents and supervisors were open to answering all types of questions, and the patrons we worked with are very kind. Even throughout the remote work period, the team worked diligently and efficiently as if we were still in-person.

What I wish was different

Nothing at all! Everything was perfect.

Advice

You'll be hit with a lot of information within the first 2 weeks that may feel a tad overwhelming, but it'll feel natural because you are given lots of time to practice. This was my first ever job, and the MCTO made me feel very welcomed and cared for as a young professional.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Ticket Agent

September 2016 - November 2019 • Davis, CA

What I liked

The ticket office is one of the best jobs on campus- flexible hours, nice coworkers, and free tickets to shows! The career staff is really interested in making sure you learn applicable skills for a post college job! I worked a few other jobs on campus in my time at UCD and this one was definitely the most fun!

What I wish was different

Honestly wish we could make as much as unitrans drivers lol

Advice

When interviewing, the most important thing is confidence! So much of this position is talking to people so you have to be comfortable making eye contact and always be willing to find an answer even if you don’t know initially. Once you’re hired, take advantage of Amy and other career staff! They have valuable insight and can help you grow skills for your resume.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Ticket Agent

September 2019 - May 2021 • Davis, CA

What I liked

The staff at the Mondavi Center is full of professional and pleasurable people who make you smile every day. The work is fantastic as you get to improve your interpersonal and computational communication skills as well as your ability to perform data input and analysis.

What I wish was different

I wish I had obtained this job earlier in my college career. Also, I wish I had gone to more free shows!

Advice

Enjoy your time here as it doesn't last forever, and open yourself up to other staff as they are always willing to help those who ask!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Ticket Agent

December 2016 - August 2020 • Davis, CA

What I liked

The Ticket Office team was my second family on campus. My coworkers were friendly, driven, and made every day fun. Amy is also the best boss I’ve ever had!

What I wish was different

Nothing at all

Advice

Customer service can be tricky, so patience is key. The Ticket Office team always has your back.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Ticket agent

April - November 2019 • Davis, CA

What I liked

I absolutely loved the work environment. It was very friendly and flexible especially when it came to school work and classes.

What I wish was different

Nothing! I loved working here

Advice

As long as you pay attention and try hard you will no doubt succeed in learning all the ticketing programs and protocols.
Be the first to mark this as helpful