https://www.aboutwayfair.com/careers/us-students

Wayfair

Talent Management Intern

June - August 2022 • Boston, MA

What I liked

Wayfair was an awesome company to intern for. They create a very comprehensive and engaging program in which interns are placed on real teams, given real work and projects, and create real products and results that are used by the company. They provided many networking and career development resources such as forums with senior leaders, social events, and outreach opportunities, as well as fun events around the city to get to know other interns. We received substantial feedback throughout the summer with in-depth performance reviews. The work-life balance I experienced was great, and I felt like I was a valuable part of the company without having to sacrifice my free-time or mental health. I would definitely recommend this experience to anyone looking for an entry into the corporate world or e-commerce specifically.

What I wish was different

I honestly wouldn't have changed anything about the experience, besides potentially adding a rotational aspect for interns who may want to explore more teams and functions throughout their time.

Advice

I would recommend that everyone takes advantage of all the social and culture-building events and opportunities to experience firsthand the culture of Wayfair and what you can expect working for them as your first job out of college.
1 person found this helpful

Technical Marketing Data Analyst Intern

June - August 2021 • Boston, MA

What I liked

Amazing manager and supportive culture. Flexibility to get what I wanted out of the internship.

What I wish was different

Pay was low compared to data roles in the Bay Area. Role was not as technical as described by the job description.

Advice

Take advantage of networking opportunity.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Category Management Co-Op

June - December 2021 • Boston, MA

What I liked

Teammates and Flexibility

What I wish was different

Better time management

Advice

Ask lots of questions and overcommunicate
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Business Operations Intern

June - August 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

I enjoyed the many intern activities and community I built which made returning to wayfair full time during a pandemic so much easier.

What I wish was different

Advice

Try your hardest and show up everyday enthusiastic to work!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Business Intelligence Analyst

June 2020 • Boston, MA

What I liked

Really nice team who cares about your individual growth; can’t speak for all departments. Worked on some cool projects and definitely learned a lot

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Data Analytics Intern

June - August 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

amazing internship program with well-planned events; coffee chats with the other interns; amazing firm culture with a very cozy office space in Back Bay; opportunity to take initiatives and work on your own projects

What I wish was different

more interaction between different teams and more networking events

Advice

be proactive and reach out to people from other teams to learn more about the firm's functions and opportunities
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Operations

June - August 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

I loved the support and events wayfair had for interns

What I wish was different

Advice

Put as much effort in as possible and don’t be afraid to take on responsibility, it is a growing company so your input helps!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Coop Category Management

July - December 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

The work environment and collaborative culture really spoke to me at Wayfair. Everyone is so friendly and willing to help that you want to do the same in return. I always felt comfortable with my team and enjoy the fun atmosphere.

What I wish was different

That I had taken more coding classes in college as originally it was a difficult transition to learn SQL and Vertica which I was unfamiliar with.

Advice

Ask questions of your coworkers and try to use the experience as a paid learning experience.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Engineer Intern

June - August 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

The work was fun, I learned a lot, and I had a great time working as part of a team of software engineers! They were super nice and I got the chance to ask a bunch of questions and learn from a variety of people. It was really nice meeting people at all different levels of the company, even the co-founder. I felt that my work and opinion was valued so it was a lovely place to work.

What I wish was different

I wish Wayfair had a location in California D:

Advice

Don't be afriad to ask questions and figure out if the role you are in is something you would like to do following graduation.
2 people found this helpful

Service Consultant

June 2019 • Orem, UT

What I liked

Great culture company wide

What I wish was different

Better hours

Advice

Good experience. I would recommend it for learning how to work with customers. No matter what career, the customer is always the most important. And every job has customers whether they are internal or external
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Engineering Co-op

July 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

Awesome learning experience. Great managers and mentor (they really want you to succeed). Very friendly open office. Plenty of networking opportunities and co-op specific events. And of course, free snacks.

What I wish was different

Work-related: nothing really, I just wish the co-op could be a bit longer. Non-work: Better perks for co-ops + free housing would be nice.

Advice

Let your managers know early what you expected and what you wanted to get out of this co-op. Don't limit yourself to knowing just your team. Make use of the open office structure and coffee chats.
1 person found this helpful

Summer Business Analyst, Marketing Strategy and Analytics

June - August 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

- Fun and innovative culture, surrounded by some of the smartest and most-driven people - Opportunity to work cross functionally and take ownership of projects - Lots of mentorship opportunities to foster growth and development (weekly 1:1's, midpoint and final reviews)

What I wish was different

Advice

Take advantage of coffee chats and networking opportunities! The company's open culture encourages it and it's really interesting hearing about people's different career paths to Wayfair.
1 person found this helpful

Accounts Receivable Analyst

January - August 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

The culture was incredible and vast. They are very supportive of employees and they make the office as comfortable as possible. The commute was super simple. The work that you do is important and meaningful. You are a member of your team, and you are not someone that goes on coffee runs and shreds paper.

What I wish was different

I wish that I had not experienced as much turnover on my team as I did. I had 5 different managers over the 8 month internship, and each manager had their own managing styles which created some white space in collaborating with them

Advice

Whatever you learned in school, do not treat it as bible. Working in a professional environment is all about people skills and learning the unique softwares / technologies / procedures that the company uses. You can't learn this stuff in school.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Case Specialist

June 2017 • Ogden, UT

What I liked

The culture is amazing!

What I wish was different

Advice

1 person found this helpful

Data Asset Coordination Co-Op

May - August 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

I liked getting to work on a team of professionals doing data analysis for cutting edge technology. Working alongside these people, I was able to gain valuable work skills that I can bring to where my path leads me in the future. Additionally, I learned about my communication style and how that shows up in a work environment.

What I wish was different

I wish I was around other interns throughout my internship program. I was the only person still in college in my department and I felt slightly alienated from the rest of my co-workers.

Advice

I would recommend engaging with co-workers and diving into any unknowns you can. The best thing that comes from the unknown is the learning you get from working through the issues that arise!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Business Analyst Intern

June - August 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

They had a great internship program, with different training sessions in addition to fun social events to get to know other interns.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Business Analyst Intern

June - August 2019 • Boston, MA

What I liked

- Fun culture - Really smart people to learn from and work with - Innovative, fast-paced work environment - Lots of learning and professional development opportunities

What I wish was different

Opportunities for group/team projects

Advice

Look at everything as a learning opportunity - schedule lots of coffee chats to learn from coworkers about what they do at Wayfair
4 people found this helpful

Trainer I

May - October 2018 • Orem, UT

What I liked

Fun working environment. Flexible and understanding about outside obligations.

What I wish was different

Lots of cliques. Not very open to new comers. Better pay would have been nice.

Advice

It can be extremely hard to have a career and go to school full time.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Engineer Intern

June - August 2018 • Boston, MA

What I liked

I could not speak more highly of my summer at Wayfair. I had an amazing manager and mentor. My coworkers were people that I admired first as human beings, then for their technical expertise. My project was high impact and, several months later, I still hear of my manager pointing people to my tool.

What I wish was different

n/a

Advice

n/a
1 person found this helpful

Business Analyst

June - August 2018 • Boston, MA

What I liked

It enjoyed learning SQL.

What I wish was different

The program could have been more rigorous.

Advice

It was rewarding, even for someone without a background in e-commerce.
Be the first to mark this as helpful
1 2